Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[AJAX] Tabbed Forum Home Details »
[AJAX] Tabbed Forum Home
Mod Version: 1.5.0, by bobster65 (Member) bobster65 is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (75 votes - 4.92 average) Installs: 592
Released: 10 Apr 2008 Last Update: 03 Sep 2008 Downloads: 9228
Not Supported Template Edits Code Changes Additional Files Translations  

Tabbed Forum Home version 1.01

[AJAX] Tabbed Forum Home version 1.5.0 (BETA)

NOTE: Works with both 3.7x and 3.6x

Description: This MOD is for creating a "Tabbed" Forum Home Page to have Categories displayed within Tab containers (similar to what the new Profile System looks like on vb3.7). Please do not confuse this with the Tab Menu System here at vbulletin.org. They are totally different systems. These Tabs actually switch the content without leaving the main forums page.

I wrote the initial Non AJAX version based on reading many requests from members asking about how namepros created their custom tabbed forum home page. The first implementation I did was a request by bbwforums.net (which you can visit to see a working example). I have shared this version with many members already and decided to release it since it seems to be something that a lot of members are interested in.

UPDATE: I have released a BETA [AJAX] version for those that what something a little more robust and easier to install/configure. This Beta version will never go into production tho as version 2.0 will utilize the YUI AJAX Tabview Toolset. It IS stable tho and is currently running on a few live sites.

NOTE: Keep in mind, I wrote this with the assumption that you are fairly well versed and comfortable with editing files/templates and following the flow of things. If there is something you don't understand, PLEASE let me know so that I can help you understand it. This IS NOT a product that a novice can just plug and play and it takes a little bit of time to setup, but its well worth it in the end (if you want a custom unique look to your forum home page)... the next version (Don't ask when, cause its just on the drawing board) will be a product with ACP controls for easy setup

The attached Zip File(s) contain the Files and Instructions necessary to install each version.

DEMO: www.bbwforums.net or www.namepros.com
[Moderator Edit: The first URL has been un-linked as there has been reported malware on that domain. The mod author may edit this notice once the situation has been cleaned.]

Screen Shots: None, visit one or both of the above links as seeing them in action is better than some static image(s)..

Bobster

Change Log

version 1.01 -
tabcontent.js ver 2.2 to support remote links
updated install instructions (both in txt and rtf format)

version 1.5.0 -
BETA [AJAX] version

July 8, 2008 - Added xml file for WOL
Sep 2, 2008 - Updated xml file for WOL

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #766  
Old 09 Sep 2008, 12:59
JVCode's Avatar
JVCode JVCode is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Thanks for the mod! works a treat... Just a feature request, Would there be a way to have Sub-Tabs? Same as Sub-forums really, but as tabs. Would be excellent for my games forums.
Reply With Quote
  #767  
Old 09 Sep 2008, 17:11
bobster65's Avatar
bobster65 bobster65 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Bob
Originally Posted by megabyte366 View Post
bobster65, Got everything working now... went back and redid it.... and pics are showing up... maybe did something wrong the 1st time the pic's are showing up... however; tried the hide the staff with your code and it still shows up.... correction: it worked...placed it at the bottom and it worked for me.. thanks

also have another one..... i have two skins... if i made a new dir under the 2 skin and copy all the files to it and direct/change the file path to the sn2d skin this should also work... or do i just need to make a dir for the tabs/

Thanks.
you can use the same .js file for multiple styles, but you will want to create a new .css file for the 2nd style.. it can be in the same directory, just a different name..

Originally Posted by JVCode View Post
Thanks for the mod! works a treat... Just a feature request, Would there be a way to have Sub-Tabs? Same as Sub-forums really, but as tabs. Would be excellent for my games forums.
I've played around a little bit with this concept, but right now our main focus is to get v2 out the door.. will certainly add this to the white board tho...
__________________
Please Do Not PM me for vBulletin assistance... I am currently only doing customization & addon's for Xenforo.
Reply With Quote
  #768  
Old 09 Sep 2008, 22:25
JVCode's Avatar
JVCode JVCode is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Thanks for the prompt reply.

One other question; The current system 'Acquires Content' each time when visiting the forum homepage, regardless of whether you've visited another tab or not, which in turn takes some time to load. Is there a way to make it so the Home Page loads as it normally would, (when the hack isn't installed) and just acquire the content on the categories which aren't on the home page?

That's the best way I could word my problem. Anyone make heads or tales of it? Help appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #769  
Old 10 Sep 2008, 17:31
illithid illithid is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I searched this entire thread for any issues with javascript being used inside of the ajax tab view. Couldn't find what I was looking for.

First, let me give props to the author of this mod, it is wonderful! Secondly, I have it installed on my forum and decided that I could use it on my home page as well. It works. My problem though, is that if the tab makes a call to a page that has data generated from javascript, the data won't display(while in the tab view). However, if you go directly to the page, outside of the ajax tab, then the data will display.

Obviously, the problem is javascript is being suppressed by the ajax tab view. Is there a way to work around this?

I have added two images, 1 shows the contents of the ajax tab view for my test file, the second image is the actual display when going directly to the test page.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tab_view.jpg (8.6 KB, 31 views)
File Type: jpg actual_view.jpg (23.4 KB, 31 views)

Last edited by illithid; 10 Sep 2008 at 19:17.
Reply With Quote
  #770  
Old 10 Sep 2008, 18:41
g0dfather1984's Avatar
g0dfather1984 g0dfather1984 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Great feature, however I am having one slight problem.

I have the tabs up for the forums & what not. But there is one that doesn't show up. I have the proper ID for it, but still no luck. Out of 6 different tabs, this is the only one that's not working.

Thank you for your help.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg untitled.JPG (12.6 KB, 33 views)
Reply With Quote
  #771  
Old 10 Sep 2008, 18:52
jj's Avatar
jj jj is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Real name: Jens
I like your [AJAX] tabbed approach very much, but unfortunately it is incompatible with custom arranged subforums (vertically aligned) using this mod.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg so_sad.jpg (51.7 KB, 37 views)
Reply With Quote
  #772  
Old 10 Sep 2008, 18:57
g0dfather1984's Avatar
g0dfather1984 g0dfather1984 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Originally Posted by jj View Post
I like your [AJAX] tabbed approach very much, but unfortunately it is incompatible with custom arranged subforums (vertically aligned) using this mod.
I had the same problem, however it was fixed.

Try changing the seperator from a comma to a line break.
Reply With Quote
  #773  
Old 10 Sep 2008, 19:26
RobbieZ RobbieZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
RobbieZ clicks install
Reply With Quote
  #774  
Old 11 Sep 2008, 00:14
bobster65's Avatar
bobster65 bobster65 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Bob
Originally Posted by illithid View Post
I searched this entire thread for any issues with javascript being used inside of the ajax tab view. Couldn't find what I was looking for.

Obviously, the problem is javascript is being suppressed by the ajax tab view. Is there a way to work around this?
There is, but its not something that you probably would be interested in .. you can try it tho and see if it works for you... (using the iframe mode)

"an external page can also be fetched and displayed via the IFRAME element instead. This is useful for external pages that either contain JavaScript/ CSS code that doesn't run properly when fetched via Ajax"

This is what to do...

rel="#default|containerid|#iframe": For each tab link that should reveal content when clicked on, add a "rel" attribute inside its link tag with one of three possible values: "#default", id_of_container_div, or "#iframe". This in combination with the link's href attribute determines what external file to fetch, and how to display it. Most commonly you'll be using containerid, which corresponds to the ID of the container DIV on the page in which to load the Ajax fetched content (see Step 2 below). "#default" and "#iframe" on the other hand are both special keywords. "#default" causes the tab to show no external content but instead what's embedded directly inside the container DIV, while #iframe causes the tab to show its content inside an IFRAME tag instead of via Ajax.


Originally Posted by g0dfather1984 View Post
I have the tabs up for the forums & what not. But there is one that doesn't show up. I have the proper ID for it, but still no luck. Out of 6 different tabs, this is the only one that's not working.
And you are sure that the ID is a Category and not a Forum?
__________________
Please Do Not PM me for vBulletin assistance... I am currently only doing customization & addon's for Xenforo.
Reply With Quote
  #775  
Old 11 Sep 2008, 00:20
bobster65's Avatar
bobster65 bobster65 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Bob
Originally Posted by JVCode View Post
Thanks for the prompt reply.

One other question; The current system 'Acquires Content' each time when visiting the forum homepage, regardless of whether you've visited another tab or not, which in turn takes some time to load. Is there a way to make it so the Home Page loads as it normally would, (when the hack isn't installed) and just acquire the content on the categories which aren't on the home page?

That's the best way I could word my problem. Anyone make heads or tales of it? Help appreciated
The acquiring content is simply the way this ajax version works.. if you don't want current info, use the first version (its NON AJAX)..

With that said, the new version uses YUI Tab View which drastically speeds up the AJAX process.. night and day difference..
__________________
Please Do Not PM me for vBulletin assistance... I am currently only doing customization & addon's for Xenforo.
Reply With Quote
  #776  
Old 11 Sep 2008, 00:43
g0dfather1984's Avatar
g0dfather1984 g0dfather1984 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Originally Posted by bobster65 View Post
There is, but its not something that you probably would be interested in .. you can try it tho and see if it works for you... (using the iframe mode)

"an external page can also be fetched and displayed via the IFRAME element instead. This is useful for external pages that either contain JavaScript/ CSS code that doesn't run properly when fetched via Ajax"

This is what to do...

rel="#default|containerid|#iframe": For each tab link that should reveal content when clicked on, add a "rel" attribute inside its link tag with one of three possible values: "#default", id_of_container_div, or "#iframe". This in combination with the link's href attribute determines what external file to fetch, and how to display it. Most commonly you'll be using containerid, which corresponds to the ID of the container DIV on the page in which to load the Ajax fetched content (see Step 2 below). "#default" and "#iframe" on the other hand are both special keywords. "#default" causes the tab to show no external content but instead what's embedded directly inside the container DIV, while #iframe causes the tab to show its content inside an IFRAME tag instead of via Ajax.




And you are sure that the ID is a Category and not a Forum?
Positive. Attachment included.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg untitled.jpg (109.8 KB, 41 views)
Reply With Quote
  #777  
Old 11 Sep 2008, 00:58
King Kovifor's Avatar
King Kovifor King Kovifor is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Real name: Jeremy
Originally Posted by illithid View Post
I searched this entire thread for any issues with javascript being used inside of the ajax tab view. Couldn't find what I was looking for.

First, let me give props to the author of this mod, it is wonderful! Secondly, I have it installed on my forum and decided that I could use it on my home page as well. It works. My problem though, is that if the tab makes a call to a page that has data generated from javascript, the data won't display(while in the tab view). However, if you go directly to the page, outside of the ajax tab, then the data will display.

Obviously, the problem is javascript is being suppressed by the ajax tab view. Is there a way to work around this?

I have added two images, 1 shows the contents of the ajax tab view for my test file, the second image is the actual display when going directly to the test page.
Please contact me through PM with the javascript code and I will work on seeing if it works for YUI and if not will attempt to find a way to fix it for 2.0 as 1.5.x is not currently under development.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Do not request support through any other means except the forums.

Useful Post With Links on Learning How To Develop vBulletin Plugins

Latest Modification: Stop Forum Spam Integration
Reply With Quote
  #778  
Old 11 Sep 2008, 02:32
illithid illithid is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Originally Posted by King Kovifor
Please contact me through PM with the javascript code and I will work on seeing if it works for YUI and if not will attempt to find a way to fix it for 2.0 as 1.5.x is not currently under development.
Check your inbox, I sent the message.

Originally Posted by bobster65
There is, but its not something that you probably would be interested in .. you can try it tho and see if it works for you... (using the iframe mode)

"an external page can also be fetched and displayed via the IFRAME element instead. This is useful for external pages that either contain JavaScript/ CSS code that doesn't run properly when fetched via Ajax"

This is what to do...

rel="#default|containerid|#iframe": For each tab link that should reveal content when clicked on, add a "rel" attribute inside its link tag with one of three possible values: "#default", id_of_container_div, or "#iframe". This in combination with the link's href attribute determines what external file to fetch, and how to display it. Most commonly you'll be using containerid, which corresponds to the ID of the container DIV on the page in which to load the Ajax fetched content (see Step 2 below). "#default" and "#iframe" on the other hand are both special keywords. "#default" causes the tab to show no external content but instead what's embedded directly inside the container DIV, while #iframe causes the tab to show its content inside an IFRAME tag instead of via Ajax.
I got a little lost in your explanation of how to implement the use of the iframe. Regardless of that, I don't see how an iframe will actually help with this problem. To explain this a little better, I have a custom vBulletin "powered" page as my home page. I have implemented the ajax tabs into that page. Currently, I can display content in the ajax container, from html, php, css, xml and even a few made up extensions, by direct linking of the tab to the external file. Pages with code that isn't javascript will display, but the javascript fails.
Reply With Quote
  #779  
Old 11 Sep 2008, 03:12
bobster65's Avatar
bobster65 bobster65 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Bob
Originally Posted by illithid View Post
Check your inbox, I sent the message.


I got a little lost in your explanation of how to implement the use of the iframe. Regardless of that, I don't see how an iframe will actually help with this problem. To explain this a little better, I have a custom vBulletin "powered" page as my home page. I have implemented the ajax tabs into that page. Currently, I can display content in the ajax container, from html, php, css, xml and even a few made up extensions, by direct linking of the tab to the external file. Pages with code that isn't javascript will display, but the javascript fails.
I know exactly what you are talking about.. I have two other mods for vBa that are Tabbed Content Modules and the same thing applies since they all use the same ajax.js file .... a lot of JS doesn't not play well with AJAX....

btw, tts easy... in the LI tag for the specific tab, there is a REL attribute.. replace the attribute with #iframe (see below)


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Please Do Not PM me for vBulletin assistance... I am currently only doing customization & addon's for Xenforo.
Reply With Quote
  #780  
Old 11 Sep 2008, 20:58
HagbardCeline HagbardCeline is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
really great add-on! i use this modification like a menu

http://forum.bf3-community.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:21.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: