Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[AJAX] Tabbed Forum Home Details »
[AJAX] Tabbed Forum Home
Mod Version: 1.5.0, by bobster65 (Member) bobster65 is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (75 votes - 4.92 average) Installs: 592
Released: 10 Apr 2008 Last Update: 03 Sep 2008 Downloads: 9228
Not Supported Template Edits Code Changes Additional Files Translations  

Tabbed Forum Home version 1.01

[AJAX] Tabbed Forum Home version 1.5.0 (BETA)

NOTE: Works with both 3.7x and 3.6x

Description: This MOD is for creating a "Tabbed" Forum Home Page to have Categories displayed within Tab containers (similar to what the new Profile System looks like on vb3.7). Please do not confuse this with the Tab Menu System here at vbulletin.org. They are totally different systems. These Tabs actually switch the content without leaving the main forums page.

I wrote the initial Non AJAX version based on reading many requests from members asking about how namepros created their custom tabbed forum home page. The first implementation I did was a request by bbwforums.net (which you can visit to see a working example). I have shared this version with many members already and decided to release it since it seems to be something that a lot of members are interested in.

UPDATE: I have released a BETA [AJAX] version for those that what something a little more robust and easier to install/configure. This Beta version will never go into production tho as version 2.0 will utilize the YUI AJAX Tabview Toolset. It IS stable tho and is currently running on a few live sites.

NOTE: Keep in mind, I wrote this with the assumption that you are fairly well versed and comfortable with editing files/templates and following the flow of things. If there is something you don't understand, PLEASE let me know so that I can help you understand it. This IS NOT a product that a novice can just plug and play and it takes a little bit of time to setup, but its well worth it in the end (if you want a custom unique look to your forum home page)... the next version (Don't ask when, cause its just on the drawing board) will be a product with ACP controls for easy setup

The attached Zip File(s) contain the Files and Instructions necessary to install each version.

DEMO: www.bbwforums.net or www.namepros.com
[Moderator Edit: The first URL has been un-linked as there has been reported malware on that domain. The mod author may edit this notice once the situation has been cleaned.]

Screen Shots: None, visit one or both of the above links as seeing them in action is better than some static image(s)..

Bobster

Change Log

version 1.01 -
tabcontent.js ver 2.2 to support remote links
updated install instructions (both in txt and rtf format)

version 1.5.0 -
BETA [AJAX] version

July 8, 2008 - Added xml file for WOL
Sep 2, 2008 - Updated xml file for WOL

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #781  
Old 11 Sep 2008, 22:19
dying4004 dying4004 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
bobster65: awesome mod bro. just changes the whole look of a forum with many catagories. i mean it looks so sleek. i have a prob though. small prob. when i click the 2nd or 3rd tab the status color of the tab doesnt switch. i mean clicking 2nd tab changes the content of the page but the tab1 still shows active. its a bit confusing u know. so cud u plz shed some light on this issue?? cheerz
Reply With Quote
  #782  
Old 11 Sep 2008, 22:40
bobster65's Avatar
bobster65 bobster65 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Bob
Originally Posted by dying4004 View Post
bobster65: awesome mod bro. just changes the whole look of a forum with many catagories. i mean it looks so sleek. i have a prob though. small prob. when i click the 2nd or 3rd tab the status color of the tab doesnt switch. i mean clicking 2nd tab changes the content of the page but the tab1 still shows active. its a bit confusing u know. so cud u plz shed some light on this issue?? cheerz
That is all controlled via the CSS file. Simply play around with color settings until you get the desired results.... If you find the file too confusing, just PM me the CSS file that you are using and I will try and help you out when I have time
__________________
Please Do Not PM me for vBulletin assistance... I am currently only doing customization & addon's for Xenforo.
Reply With Quote
  #783  
Old 11 Sep 2008, 23:48
dying4004 dying4004 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Originally Posted by bobster65 View Post
That is all controlled via the CSS file. Simply play around with color settings until you get the desired results.... If you find the file too confusing, just PM me the CSS file that you are using and I will try and help you out when I have time
thnx a lot for the reply bro. i will try to solve the prb by myself. but if i cant then i might take a precious time of urs to have a luk at my css. regards.
Reply With Quote
  #784  
Old 11 Sep 2008, 23:58
karlm's Avatar
karlm karlm is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: Karl
Nice, but now, my admin zone shows to guests - though the contents don't - but they shouldn't be able to see that.
Reply With Quote
  #785  
Old 12 Sep 2008, 01:38
bobster65's Avatar
bobster65 bobster65 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Bob
Originally Posted by karlm View Post
Nice, but now, my admin zone shows to guests - though the contents don't - but they shouldn't be able to see that.
This is simple (and is explained in post #2) You can wrap a specific TAB <li> tag with a template conditional where the numbers after userinfo are the User Group IDs that you want to display the Tab too.

So for example if you wanted to hide one for Staff Only it would look like this (See the code in RED)


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Please Do Not PM me for vBulletin assistance... I am currently only doing customization & addon's for Xenforo.
Reply With Quote
  #786  
Old 12 Sep 2008, 12:59
bobster65's Avatar
bobster65 bobster65 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Bob
Originally Posted by illithid View Post
I searched this entire thread for any issues with javascript being used inside of the ajax tab view. Couldn't find what I was looking for.

Obviously, the problem is javascript is being suppressed by the ajax tab view. Is there a way to work around this?
Hey Bud.. good news (unfortunately, not for version 1.5 tho) .. With V2, you will be able to execute scripts both remote and inline during the dataSrc request

For In Line Javascript, The script tag will be executed when the tab is activated.

For Remote Javascript, you can load components dynamically during the tab loading process. You can dynamically load CSS for your component and have it injected into the current page style set. You'll then be able to create content on the fly using the script inline.

This actually solved a few of the major "bugs" that have been reported which means Version 2 took a major leap towards being released soon for beta testing...
__________________
Please Do Not PM me for vBulletin assistance... I am currently only doing customization & addon's for Xenforo.
Reply With Quote
  #787  
Old 12 Sep 2008, 13:32
maidos maidos is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
any eta when 2.0 will get released?
Reply With Quote
  #788  
Old 12 Sep 2008, 18:03
illithid illithid is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Originally Posted by bobster65 View Post
Hey Bud.. good news (unfortunately, not for version 1.5 tho) .. With V2, you will be able to execute scripts both remote and inline during the dataSrc request

For In Line Javascript, The script tag will be executed when the tab is activated.

For Remote Javascript, you can load components dynamically during the tab loading process. You can dynamically load CSS for your component and have it injected into the current page style set. You'll then be able to create content on the fly using the script inline.

This actually solved a few of the major "bugs" that have been reported which means Version 2 took a major leap towards being released soon for beta testing...
Thanks so much, cause I got the #iframe method working, but the links open in the iframe....not very pretty at the moment. As for this fix fixing other issues, I am glad that I brought it your attention. I hope the release isn't much further away. Good work on this guys.
Reply With Quote
  #789  
Old 12 Sep 2008, 19:04
bobster65's Avatar
bobster65 bobster65 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Bob
Originally Posted by maidos View Post
any eta when 2.0 will get released?
No. Getting closer to Beta Testing tho. Knocked out over 10 bugs last night alone by finding a new YUI Tab Component that works great with inline/external JS... Just hanf tight.. its a heck of a lot closer today than it was 12 hrs ago lol

Originally Posted by illithid View Post
Thanks so much, cause I got the #iframe method working, but the links open in the iframe....not very pretty at the moment. As for this fix fixing other issues, I am glad that I brought it your attention. I hope the release isn't much further away. Good work on this guys.
Ya, I mentioned that it was not the ideal solution (rather ugly lol)..btw, not sure if the JS script that KK has on the Dev server is yours or not, but if it is, Its working fine on my own Server with version 2.0 running

And yes, thank you
__________________
Please Do Not PM me for vBulletin assistance... I am currently only doing customization & addon's for Xenforo.
Reply With Quote
  #790  
Old 12 Sep 2008, 19:06
ShawnV's Avatar
ShawnV ShawnV is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Originally Posted by bobster65 View Post
No. Getting closer to Beta Testing tho. Knocked out over 10 bugs last night alone by finding a new YUI Tab Component that works great with inline/external JS... Just hanf tight.. its a heck of a lot closer today than it was 12 hrs ago lol

Great news, waiting on 2.0 also, thanks for the update.

_V
__________________
Elements of Darkness
Reply With Quote
  #791  
Old 12 Sep 2008, 19:16
karlm's Avatar
karlm karlm is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: Karl
Originally Posted by bobster65 View Post
This is simple (and is explained in post #2) You can wrap a specific TAB <li> tag with a template conditional where the numbers after userinfo are the User Group IDs that you want to display the Tab too.

So for example if you wanted to hide one for Staff Only it would look like this (See the code in RED)


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Thanks - I had intended to ask whether a conditional would work... but just forgot to mention.
Reply With Quote
  #792  
Old 12 Sep 2008, 20:21
King Kovifor's Avatar
King Kovifor King Kovifor is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Real name: Jeremy
Originally Posted by bobster65 View Post
No. Getting closer to Beta Testing tho. Knocked out over 10 bugs last night alone by finding a new YUI Tab Component that works great with inline/external JS... Just hanf tight.. its a heck of a lot closer today than it was 12 hrs ago lol



Ya, I mentioned that it was not the ideal solution (rather ugly lol)..btw, not sure if the JS script that KK has on the Dev server is yours or not, but if it is, Its working fine on my own Server with version 2.0 running

And yes, thank you
Yes it is, but I am seeming to have problems. But other than that all I had to say was "WOW". LOL. It is getting much closer and it looks amazing.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Do not request support through any other means except the forums.

Useful Post With Links on Learning How To Develop vBulletin Plugins

Latest Modification: Stop Forum Spam Integration
Reply With Quote
  #793  
Old 12 Sep 2008, 21:00
aggiefan aggiefan is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Originally Posted by ShawnV View Post
Great news, waiting on 2.0 also, thanks for the update.

_V
i am as well.... been watching this but it seems at this point it will be easier to just wait for 2.0 vs trying to make it work in its current form. i tried for about 5 mins a few days ago to make it work but never could so i removed it for now.
__________________
Owner of http://www.aggiefans.com
Our Custom Hacks:
Reputation Report
vBContest (college pickem script)
Reply With Quote
  #794  
Old 12 Sep 2008, 21:59
King Kovifor's Avatar
King Kovifor King Kovifor is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Real name: Jeremy
OK we have one major major thing to do that will alleviate tons of work and make it more 'seamlessly' integrated into vBulletin, but it's something that I haven't seen done before through modifications. It may have but I haven't found it. So we most likely have to 'reinvent' the wheel on this one.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Do not request support through any other means except the forums.

Useful Post With Links on Learning How To Develop vBulletin Plugins

Latest Modification: Stop Forum Spam Integration
Reply With Quote
  #795  
Old 13 Sep 2008, 03:19
illithid illithid is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Originally Posted by King Kovifor View Post
OK we have one major major thing to do that will alleviate tons of work and make it more 'seamlessly' integrated into vBulletin, but it's something that I haven't seen done before through modifications. It may have but I haven't found it. So we most likely have to 'reinvent' the wheel on this one.
Don't keep us in suspense as to what this "major major thing to do" is. BTW, I am willing to assist in any way possible with this mod....assuming you could use the assistance. I am not much good with javascript or ajax, however, I can code php quite well. My point is, instead of re-invent the wheel, let us know what it is that needs to be done, perhaps I, or somebody else has a solution.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:39.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: