Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Interactive Google Maps In Post Details »
Interactive Google Maps In Post
Mod Version: 1.00, by benstillman (Coder) benstillman is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (35 votes - 4.71 average) Installs: 223
Released: 11 Feb 2010 Last Update: Never Downloads: 0
Not Supported  

No Google Maps API key, no mod install, no template edits, etc. This is based off YBMF's mod for 4.0, but a bit easier for the end user. Instead of the user having to input the full Google Maps link, just the address, name of business, etc is acceptable.

Admin CP --> Custom BB Codes --> Add New BB Code


Title: Map

BB Code Tag Name: map

Replacement: <div align="center" style="margin: 5px 5px 5px 5px;">
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="1" border="0" width="100%">
<tr>
<td class="thead" style="text-align:center"><iframe width="100%" height="600" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" marginheight="0" marginwidth="0" src="http://maps.google.com/maps?q={param}&output=embed"></iframe></td>
</tr>
</table>
</div>

Example: [map]201 S. Grant Avenue, Columbus, Ohio[/map]

Description: This will insert a Google map of the location you input

Use {option}: No

Button Image (Optional): whatever 20x20 image you want, attached is the one we use

Remove Tag If Empty: Yes

Disable BB Code Within This BB Code:
Yes

Disable Smilies Within This BB Code: Yes

Disable Word Wrapping Within This BB Code: Yes

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	mapscreenshot.jpg
Views:	3065
Size:	173.8 KB
ID:	112111  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
BB Code Enhancements Interactive Google Maps In Post benstillman vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 44 19 Apr 2017 20:10
New Posting Features Phoogle! An interactive Google Maps mapping system. magnus vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 246 02 Jan 2012 17:59

  #121  
Old 20 Aug 2012, 06:02
Arrogant-One's Avatar
Arrogant-One Arrogant-One is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Real name: Alex
Originally Posted by Mr_Running View Post
Check BB Code Manager...is BB Code and HTML both

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
I don't know what you mean. Here is a screen shot.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg scrnsht.jpg (52.7 KB, 32 views)
__________________
OzChess - Australia's Chess Forum- http://www.ozchess.com
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 20 Aug 2012, 06:05
Arrogant-One's Avatar
Arrogant-One Arrogant-One is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Real name: Alex
Originally Posted by Mr_Running View Post
with the exception of Use {option} which is to be set to No.
Seems this was the problemo. Mod working perfectly now, thanks.
__________________
OzChess - Australia's Chess Forum- http://www.ozchess.com
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 08 Oct 2012, 19:46
karabaja3's Avatar
karabaja3 karabaja3 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Will this work on vB 3.8.7.?

Edit: sorry. Found: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=235621
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 31 Oct 2012, 15:48
byker_tr byker_tr is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by Mr_Running View Post
Try this...

Example:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Replacement:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
original code did not work for me, but this one works.. thanks
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 04 Nov 2012, 03:11
Fongool Fongool is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Will this work on VB 4.2?
This would be perfect for my forum.

F
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 04 Nov 2012, 21:18
Mr_Running Mr_Running is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Yes
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 05 Nov 2012, 11:26
Fongool Fongool is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Thank you..

F
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 05 Nov 2012, 12:08
Fongool Fongool is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
I uploaded the button and even re-sized it to 16X16 and I have the path correct but the button will not show...I am using Twisted Dark as my skin (theme) and I added the button to both the Twisted Dark editor and the public html editor and I tried both path's but it still will not load...any idea's?....it has the button there, (blank) and when I hover the cursor over it it says" wrap MAP tags around text) but even after I put the path in (and I tried both paths for the default skin editor and the Twisted Dark editor) and it just shows the image of the separator in the ACP under "Button Image"....I re-sized the images from 20X20 to 16X16 like it said in the ACP, but still no image...see attached thumbnails...Other than that, the map works great!...I just need to get the button to show up...

F

EDIT:
Nevermind...I solved it...I had /public html in the path...I took it out and now all is good...Thanks

F
Attached Images
File Type: png map1.PNG (20.6 KB, 17 views)
File Type: png map2.PNG (25.3 KB, 19 views)

Last edited by Fongool; 05 Nov 2012 at 13:52.
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 13 Feb 2013, 17:37
OhP OhP is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Width

Thanks for the mod/bbcode, it is very cool.

I am having an issue with my site that affects this mod that I just cannot get to the bottom of.

For some reason my maps are only sizing to about 30% of the width of a post area instead of the full post area shown in the Mod sample. Also when I change the value of the width to something lower than 100% it only acts to move the map across the page like an alignment property.

In general my site has had issues with any use of the width property...no problems with height. I've gone through my settings and can't figure out what is doing this. I've also changed my themes to see if that effected it, nope. I'm betting the answer is probably something really simple I am overlooking, but I have overlooked now many times, help is appreciated.

Ideally I would like to be able to create a map 400X400px (or 300X300px with the ' google maps info balloon suppressed').

It's running vBulletin 4.2.0 (3)
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 14 Feb 2013, 02:48
Mr_Running Mr_Running is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
OhP are you using the mods Replacement code? If so check this thread...perhaps use Replacement code in post #124
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old 14 Feb 2013, 21:57
OhP OhP is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Thanks Mr_Running. Works great now.

Gotta read these posts more carefully.
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 15 Feb 2013, 22:48
Delfi_r Delfi_r is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Installed the original code and worked, but the replacement is better
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 16 Feb 2013, 06:38
Charis Charis is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Thanks.
This code
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

works perfect with 4.2 PL3.
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 16 Feb 2013, 16:21
john7911 john7911 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 16 Feb 2013, 18:57
Jester1423 Jester1423 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
I installed this BB code and now all of my editor buttons are not showing. Any ideas
Attached Images
File Type: jpg buttons.jpg (55.6 KB, 14 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:15.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: