Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Facebook Connect - Allow your users to login with their Facebook account Details »
Facebook Connect - Allow your users to login with their Facebook account
Mod Version: 2.0.5, by sllik (Member) sllik is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2011 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (78 votes - 4.72 average) Installs: 499
Released: 10 Dec 2008 Last Update: 24 Mar 2009 Downloads: 6150
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Translations External Content  

Facebook Connect
This add-on allows your guests and existing users to login with their Facebook account through Facebook Connect.

WORKS WITH 3.8!

Benefits of Facebook Connect
  • Users can simply login with their Facebook account without going through the registration process.
  • Increase user interaction and your traffic through Facebook notifications and news-feeds!
Features
Facebook users will be able to receive Facebook notifications when:
  • There is a reply to their thread or a thread that they're subscribing to
  • They receive a new PM
News-Feed will be published on to the user's wall when the user:
  • Logs in for the first time
  • Replies to a thread
  • Creates a new thread
Fetch user data from Facebook
Fetch data like name, location, profile picture and use it on your forums! (NOTE: Some data may not be available for some users)

Automatically befriend user's friends
If any of the user's friends are also registered on the forum, they will automatically be friends!

How to Upgrade From 2.0.0 to 2.0.1
  • Upgrade the product. (Import the product XML again and set overwrite to yes).
  • Update Feed Template IDs in the settings (make sure they are the same as at: FB Connect Options -> News-Feed Templates)
How to Upgrade From 2.0.1 to 2.0.2
See UPGRADE.html
  • Fixed the notification problem (notifications were sent to wrong people)
  • Login button will now be displayed on vbAdvanced pages
How to Upgrade From 2.0.2 to 2.0.3
See UPGRADE.html
  • Fixed the Facebook avatar displayed for the wrong people problem.
  • Added Facebook UID & Profile URL field to data map.
Professional Install/Upgrade/Support Services
Want this mod professionally installed? It's guaranteed to work on your forum! Download the archive and see INSTALL.html/UPGRADE.html for more details!

Troubleshooting
Server Requirements:
PHP 5

If you get an error:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Means that there is something wrong with your callback URL. Your callback URL must be where xd_receiver.htm is; so when you enter [callbackurl]/xd_receiver.htm into your browser you should see a blank page (not a 404 page not found error or anything else).

If you get a continues this means there is a javascript error. Make sure you've done all the template edits correctly (especially footer & navbar). Clear your cache and reload the page.

If nothing happens when you click the Facebook Connect button make sure your callback url domain is the same as you forum domain (the one set in your forum settings) - more specifically make sure that there is a www (or isn't) in both domains.


Many more features may be implemented in the future so keep checking for updates.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	shot1.png
Views:	4318
Size:	103.3 KB
ID:	90376   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot2.png
Views:	6029
Size:	105.8 KB
ID:	90377   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot3.png
Views:	6897
Size:	139.5 KB
ID:	90378   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot4.png
Views:	6004
Size:	106.3 KB
ID:	91218  

Click image for larger version

Name:	shot5.png
Views:	5121
Size:	60.9 KB
ID:	91219  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #1036  
Old 23 Jan 2009, 20:25
Hex_legend Hex_legend is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
I seem to have an error that has gone un-noticed on this thread.

When I click the button, its just linked to # and it doesn't do anything.
How do I solve?
Reply With Quote
  #1037  
Old 24 Jan 2009, 00:09
sllik sllik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Originally Posted by Hex_legend View Post
I seem to have an error that has gone un-noticed on this thread.

When I click the button, its just linked to # and it doesn't do anything.
How do I solve?
make sure you callback url and your forum url are the same. Also setup the base domain setting under the facebook application settings (under the connect tab). Whats your forum url?

Originally Posted by Seerkan View Post
Hi,

Connection with facebook works great, but i cant publish a "New Thread" or "Quick Replay".

If i try to write a new post, it is like if the post is without text (The message you have entered is too short...).
If i try to write a quick replay i publish the message "Please click one of the Quick Reply icons in the posts above to activate Quick Reply."

I have installed another products, but i "disable" all of them to the test.

If i use a template no edited, all works perfect (except facebook connection, of course)

Anyone with the same problem? any idea? (if you need more info just tell me)

Thanks and greatings from spain.
make sure your template edits are correct! especially newthread, SHOWTHREAD & newreply
__________________
Want Facebook Connect for vBulletin professionally installed on your forum? It's guaranteed to work! PM me for details!
Reply With Quote
  #1038  
Old 24 Jan 2009, 01:49
monkeywarplane monkeywarplane is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Another suggestion for you Silik. I have a private moderator's forum that still publishes/offers to publish the contents of a new thread or reply onto my wall. I know I could easily deny the activity to be published, but would be great in the future to exclude certain forums' activities from having news feeds published.

Any news on the new registrations not showing up on the memberlist or being searchable in the admin cp? Again, great work.

Cheers, Stuart
Reply With Quote
  #1039  
Old 24 Jan 2009, 03:28
AzzX's Avatar
AzzX AzzX is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Real name: Aaron
Fantastic Work with this sllik!

Nominated.
__________________
azzx.org ozsource.org
Reply With Quote
  #1040  
Old 24 Jan 2009, 10:15
sdsvtdriver sdsvtdriver is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
I installed this mod and it works well on the first try. Good job! A couple of questions...

Originally Posted by ClaytonR View Post
I have a issues, for some reason my users have the wrong person's picture, it was working fine then this morning it had them all with the profile pic of one of our administrators.

EDIT its only happening with avatars in the posts, their avatars are correct on the memberlist.
I have the same issue. I logged in with my account with no Facebook picture. I then had friend test the login and his avatar came up. He then changed his avatar. Then, I noticed in posts that I had his old avatar associated with my posts. This is a bug.

Originally Posted by monkeywarplane View Post
Another suggestion for you Silik. I have a private moderator's forum that still publishes/offers to publish the contents of a new thread or reply onto my wall. I know I could easily deny the activity to be published, but would be great in the future to exclude certain forums' activities from having news feeds published.
Yes, I'd like to exclude certain forums. I don't want threads that I post in the admin area being sent over to Facebook.
Reply With Quote
  #1041  
Old 24 Jan 2009, 11:12
3DSJFH 3DSJFH is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
I was hoping sllik or somebody else could attend my question?

Everything in the install process seems straight forward enough, however making numerous manual modifications to the templates is kind of a bad idea for when you try to update your vB version.

Do you plan to offer an alternative to this? Other add-ons I think use the hook system to avoid this from happening.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #1042  
Old 24 Jan 2009, 11:29
zorag zorag is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I'm having a major issue here, since installing this mod I can't post correctly.

When creating a thread I get:

The following errors occurred with your submission:

1. The message you have entered is too short. Please lengthen your message to at least 10 characters.
Although it's more, and if I use the Quick Reply form I get:

Please click one of the Quick Reply icons in the posts above to activate Quick Reply.
This is only with FireFox? Can anyone else try please http://earner.net

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #1043  
Old 24 Jan 2009, 18:04
sllik sllik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Originally Posted by sdsvtdriver View Post
I installed this mod and it works well on the first try. Good job! A couple of questions...



I have the same issue. I logged in with my account with no Facebook picture. I then had friend test the login and his avatar came up. He then changed his avatar. Then, I noticed in posts that I had his old avatar associated with my posts. This is a bug.
fixed!

Originally Posted by 3DSJFH View Post
I was hoping sllik or somebody else could attend my question?

Everything in the install process seems straight forward enough, however making numerous manual modifications to the templates is kind of a bad idea for when you try to update your vB version.

Do you plan to offer an alternative to this? Other add-ons I think use the hook system to avoid this from happening.

Thank you.
There is no alternative right now.

Originally Posted by zorag View Post
I'm having a major issue here, since installing this mod I can't post correctly.

When creating a thread I get:



Although it's more, and if I use the Quick Reply form I get:



This is only with FireFox? Can anyone else try please http://earner.net

Thanks
please see a few posts before... make sure you did all the template edit correctly especially newreply, SHOWTHREAD and newthread. Also go to FB Connect settings and save them (even if you didn't make any changes).
__________________
Want Facebook Connect for vBulletin professionally installed on your forum? It's guaranteed to work! PM me for details!

Last edited by sllik; 24 Jan 2009 at 19:37.
Reply With Quote
  #1044  
Old 24 Jan 2009, 19:36
sllik sllik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
v2.0.3 is now available!

Fixed the bug where wrong avatars (imported from facebook) are being displayed.
Added the request Facebook UID & Profile URL field to the data map.

Taken this mod out from Beta stage.

Enjoy!
__________________
Want Facebook Connect for vBulletin professionally installed on your forum? It's guaranteed to work! PM me for details!
Reply With Quote
  #1045  
Old 24 Jan 2009, 19:54
fattony69 fattony69 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Real name: Tony
Is it possible that this mod can have auto-template edits?
__________________
The Best Forum Ever!
Reply With Quote
  #1046  
Old 24 Jan 2009, 20:08
sllik sllik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
auto template edits always have problems IMO.
__________________
Want Facebook Connect for vBulletin professionally installed on your forum? It's guaranteed to work! PM me for details!
Reply With Quote
  #1047  
Old 24 Jan 2009, 20:46
Vaupell's Avatar
Vaupell Vaupell is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Real name: Martin
tagged but waiting.. using 3.8.0 want to see more succesfully install and use
__________________
My website Evisystems
- - - Stuff - - -
follow the white rabbit, feed! your head
Reply With Quote
  #1048  
Old 24 Jan 2009, 22:23
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
Just wanted to say I finally installed this and it works great

thanks

ps.. that's on a 3.8 board. Transform Topeka Forum
__________________

Email me for website help: brandon[at]sheley[dot]org
Reply With Quote
  #1049  
Old 24 Jan 2009, 22:36
kursed kursed is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
How do I assign a Facebook account to a different VB account? I've set my own Facebook account to link with a test VB account, but would like it linked to my main account.
Reply With Quote
  #1050  
Old 25 Jan 2009, 00:37
Mum Mum is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Real name: Kirsty
Originally Posted by sllik View Post
Sorry, this add-on only supports PHP5 for now...
ANy chance of doing this for PHP4?
__________________
Mummybrain.com We're virtually family
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:09.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: