Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
DJ's Dynamic Tab Content for Postbit_Legacy Details »
DJ's Dynamic Tab Content for Postbit_Legacy
Mod Version: 1.5.0, by Digital Jedi (Coder/Designer) Digital Jedi is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (8 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 72
Released: 09 Mar 2010 Last Update: Never Downloads: 362
Supported Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code  

**vBulletin 3.x version can be found here: DJ's Dynamic Tab Content for Postbit_Legacy**

Ever felt your postbit_legacy template was just too long? Or maybe you'd like to add more content to your postbit_legacy, but you don't like the cluttered look or extended length of the post, especially when most posts are only a handful of sentences? Almost every decent modification here on vB.org has the option to add a link or a display to your postbit templates, and you've likely struggled, as I have, to come up with just the info you want to display, likely excluding things you thought would look real nice, but just couldn't justify the room for.

Now I've seen several good modifications that address this problem, and all of them are pretty nice. I've seen everything from a drop-down menu that displays the content, to a box that can be opened and closed just underneath the avatar. All of them are practical in their own way, and here's one more way that I worked out using a script from Dynamic Drive's website called Tab Content Script. This cleaned up my postbit_legacy just the way I wanted, and let me add even more content then I would have originally intended. It also allowed me to organize content in whatever manner I wished. I love it and I think you will too.


Screenshots


Live Demo
Live Demo is on a vBulletin 3.x forum, but the functionality is identical for vB4. Click any of the grey dots beneath the user's avatars.


Difficulty: Intermediate
A few things you should know before moving forward. The instructions for this mod are not your standard template modification instructions. It's going to presume that you've edited your postbit_legacy template before and that you're somewhat familiar with its content, with HTML and how to wrap <if condition=""> conditionals. So it's not going to be a "look for this line of code, add this under it" kind of traditional tutorial. What I'm going to do is show you the basic code, how to implement it and then let you do with it what you want. That is, after all, the reason I came up with mod in first place, and I know everyone wont have the same postbit content and/or will want to set theirs up differently.

With that said, knowledge of how to modify your templates and basic HTML coding is something every vBulletin administrator should have. I'm not a coder. I'm a complete hack. But I know enough to take some of the wealth of code snippets available on the web and attempt to use them in new and inventive ways. Administrating a vB forum is that much more satisfying as a result.


Installation
To add this to your forum requires you to upload some files, make one edit to your headinclude template and one to your postbit_legacy template. If you don't know what postbit_legacy does, it's the template that controls the look of your posts when you've chosen to have avatars and user information appear to the left hand side of your posts. If you don't use that look for your forum, but instead use the one where avatars appear above your posts, then that means you use the postbit template, and this modification wasn't designed to look right on that template. (Though we have had a few users give it a try.)

Step 1.
First things first. After downloading the Attachment 113756 file, extract the contents and upload the postbit_tabs folder in your forum's root directory (Your forum root is the folder you have physically installed vBulletin in, which means that for some folks, this isn't the same thing as your site root.)

Step 2.
Right click and download this JavaScript file from the Dynamic Drive website: tabcontent.js (You can also download it from this page.) Upload it to the postbit_tabs folder you just added to your website.

Step 3.
Now to edit your headinclude template. Go to Admin CP >>> Styles & Templates >>> Style Manager >>> <<>> >>> headinclude.

Add the following block of code to the very bottom. Remember to keep the copyright intact for legal use.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Step 4.
Now to access your postbit_legacy template, go to Admin CP >>> Styles & Templates >>> Style Manager >>> <<>> >>> Postbit Templates >>> postbit_legacy.

From here, your going to add a basic set of code from which you can then customize it. You can pretty much add it anywhere in the template, but most likely your going to want to add it just below the avatar. If that's the case, your avatar code is most likely going to look something like this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Below that add this basic set of code. This block of code will be your physical tab content.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Now go to your forum and see if your tabs are displaying properly and your not getting any errors. You should have five dot tabs that display five different sets of information when clicked.

Final Steps
Now comes the hard part. Now you have to decide what you want to put in those places called Tab 1 Content:Block A, etc. This is where knowledge of your postbit_legacy template comes into play. Your now going to move whatever content you want in the respective tabs from their current location into the tabs. This is entirely up to you, but you can use my forum as a starting point. The following posts also have some tips to help you along the way.

Post 2 has a Basic Breakdown of what the tabs do, a tutorial on how to add more tabs, default snippets of code that you can move into the tabs containers as well some snippets from common hacks.

Post 3 has some links to other sites that have implemented this hack to give you an idea of what can be done with it. And it has some additional images to use in place of the default dots.

Post 5 has Frequently Asked Questions for most problems you would encounter.




Known Bugs
There is one minor issue with the tabs that only occurs when using the AJAX quick reply and inline editing. Actually it's two issues, but I've only seen one or the other on my live site vs. my demo board. In one instance, the entire content of all your tabs displays all at once when posting/editing using AJAX. This is not a huge deal, as the only person who sees it do that is the person doing the posting/editing. And it will return to normal anytime he reloads or refreshes the page. The other instance is when after posting/editing through AJAX, no tab content appears, except the dot tabs. This is also not a huge deal as the same thing will happen here too; only the poster sees it and it will look normal anytime he returns or reloads the page. I think it's a minor trade off for the sleek look it gives your forum the rest of the time.

Upgrade Instructions
For those using the vBulletin 3.x version and who want to upgrade, follow the instructions I'll be including shortly in a subsequent post.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Postbit-Tabs-Screenie.gif
Views:	7999
Size:	48.7 KB
ID:	113758   Click image for larger version

Name:	Postbit Tabs Screenie.png
Views:	7905
Size:	9.1 KB
ID:	113757  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks DJ's Dynamic Tab Content for Postbit_Legacy Digital Jedi vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications 389 19 Sep 2013 16:26

  #61  
Old 06 Nov 2010, 04:31
FreshFroot's Avatar
FreshFroot FreshFroot is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
If this was made into a product. Wouldn't that then kill all your unknown bugs and let it work properly.

I assume the bugs exist because the forum uses AJAX too? And since it's not a plugin, it counters the forum reply/edit AJAX model.

So if this was a plugin and the right hooks were used, I assume the bugs would not be there anymore?
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 10 Nov 2010, 04:24
dcuellar dcuellar is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I've used this before and I went ahead and installed it again.

Attached is a picture of one of my tabs. I'm posting this tab in particular because I've added a function which alerts the user if they do not have that profile field filled and then allows them to click on a link that takes them to edit their profile.

The only one who can see that is the person who posted that particular message.
Everyone else just sees the available profile fields.

Here is the code FOR ONE TAB w/ONE ENTRY (copy and paste entry for more) for those interested. Just insert the appropriate info where you see red:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Attached Images
File Type: png Screen shot 2010-11-09 at 11.10.48 PM.png (51.9 KB, 34 views)
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 11 Nov 2010, 20:07
dcuellar dcuellar is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Can anyone tell me what the vbcredits piece of code is? I believe the one listed here is from the old vbcredits.

Does anyone have it for vbCredits II?
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 30 Nov 2010, 13:43
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by FreshFroot View Post
If this was made into a product. Wouldn't that then kill all your unknown bugs and let it work properly.

I assume the bugs exist because the forum uses AJAX too? And since it's not a plugin, it counters the forum reply/edit AJAX model.

So if this was a plugin and the right hooks were used, I assume the bugs would not be there anymore?
Not exactly, what's causing the issue is that when you post in AJAX in vBulletin, your submitting all the code in the postbit template. And that just happens to be where this modification code needs to be to display where it does. JavaScript doesn't post, at least in the research of I've done about it, when going through AJAX. I've seen numerous queries on the web on how to make that happen, but I've not seen any discussions providing a solution. Although, it has been some time since I did my initial research. Even if it were a plugin, the code would still be displayed via AJAX, creating the same issue for you.

Also, I'm looking into doing this into a product. But it doesn't look like it would be anywhere near as flexible as a simple template edit.


Originally Posted by dcuellar View Post
I've used this before and I went ahead and installed it again.

Attached is a picture of one of my tabs. I'm posting this tab in particular because I've added a function which alerts the user if they do not have that profile field filled and then allows them to click on a link that takes them to edit their profile.

The only one who can see that is the person who posted that particular message.
Everyone else just sees the available profile fields.

Here is the code FOR ONE TAB w/ONE ENTRY (copy and paste entry for more) for those interested. Just insert the appropriate info where you see red:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Okay, I kinda like that. First chance I get, I'll add that to the list of variations on the first page. Thanks.


Originally Posted by dcuellar View Post
Can anyone tell me what the vbcredits piece of code is? I believe the one listed here is from the old vbcredits.

Does anyone have it for vbCredits II?
I don't have it installed yet, but you should be able to find out from whomever is supporting that now. Check to see if the new code is just a new template displaying via a hook, and you should be able to blank the template and copy the code over to the tabs.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 23 Dec 2010, 06:41
Mobo Mobo is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Keith Upton
Opps, wrong thread!
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 13 Jan 2011, 20:53
Noser Noser is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
is there any way to get xperience mod into an tab?

if yes, how i didn get it to work, every thing shown in the box is centered.

Noser
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 13 Jan 2011, 22:42
OldSchoolDSL OldSchoolDSL is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Real name: Adam H.
A question before I attempt to apply this (as it would clean up my community, nicely)

Has anyone tried this yet on 4.1 PL2 (or 4.1.1) ?
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 13 Jan 2011, 23:35
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by Noser View Post
is there any way to get xperience mod into an tab?

if yes, how i didn get it to work, every thing shown in the box is centered.

Noser
I simply moved the template hook that vBExperience uses into one of the tab containers. If you have other stuff that uses that hook, then you might need to tweak some things. But it should work.

Originally Posted by OldSchoolDSL View Post
A question before I attempt to apply this (as it would clean up my community, nicely)

Has anyone tried this yet on 4.1 PL2 (or 4.1.1) ?
I have done it, but it does need just a bit of tweaking, as some of the variables in 4.1 changed a bit between versions. I plan on posting that version soon, I'm just trying to get the time to do it along with all my other, er, stuff.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 14 Jan 2011, 06:30
OldSchoolDSL OldSchoolDSL is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Real name: Adam H.
Cool

Originally Posted by Digital Jedi View Post
I simply moved the template hook that vBExperience uses into one of the tab containers. If you have other stuff that uses that hook, then you might need to tweak some things. But it should work.


I have done it, but it does need just a bit of tweaking, as some of the variables in 4.1 changed a bit between versions. I plan on posting that version soon, I'm just trying to get the time to do it along with all my other, er, stuff.
Thank you for the quick reply and honestly... Thank you for your willingness to support this further.

I know a lot of the members here seem to only post to report bugs and to complain. And god knows IB releasing so many updates, does not help at all.

So thank you so much for your continued effort.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 14 Jan 2011, 15:42
Noser Noser is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
thank you DJ i just have the issue that the bars are centered btw it works well on 4.1 PL2

Greetings
Noser
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 14 Jan 2011, 16:27
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by Noser View Post
thank you DJ i just have the issue that the bars are centered btw it works well on 4.1 PL2

Greetings
Noser
Hrm, I've not run into that problem yet. Is your postbit content centered, or is this the only thing doing it?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 25 Jan 2011, 09:44
fukdawrld fukdawrld is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Originally Posted by duditas View Post
Hello

I'm a kind of a newbie and I'm working very hard to get this mod in my forum.

I almost get it, with a little help of kuervo (vbhispano), because I'm not good at english.


My penultimate problem is that I can't make js works. My dots don't change its colour and I can't access to TAB 2 CONTENT, TAB 2 CONTENT, and so..
All dots are linked to : http://www.myforum.com/#

I have it at -> postbit_tabs carpet


I have followed FAQ 5 and 6, and I think I did everything properly


Any sugestion, please?


** I would like to thank to AfterWorldForum for showing us his code. =)


I have the same issue..I'm having a lot of trouble getting this to work. Can u post the solution please.

My Postbit template:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.




Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 06 Feb 2011, 19:23
haimanpop haimanpop is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Real name: Haiman Adel
good work
thank you
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 10 Feb 2011, 20:02
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
*** edit - removed paid request but left the answer regarding paid requests ***

Three ways to go about this....

1. Ask the author as he may want the extra $$
2. Post in the Unpaid request area - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=112
3. Post in the Paid request area - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=30

I'll report this post (so it's moved properly to paid request for now since you mentioned $20 etc) and you can see what replies come in then choose accordingly .
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!

Last edited by Lynne; 10 Feb 2011 at 20:09. Reason: edited out paid request.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 10 Mar 2011, 08:25
Wordplay Wordplay is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
awesome modification, sadly i wont have any use for it on my boards, but i just wanted to give some props where props are due.
__________________
nothing left to say
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 21:09.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: