Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
v3 Arcade - Lights Out Mode v2 Details »
v3 Arcade - Lights Out Mode v2
Mod Version: 2.0.1, by Gemma (Coder/Designer) Gemma is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2021 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (5 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 19
Released: 21 Jan 2012 Last Update: 13 May 2012 Downloads: 106
Not Supported Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code  

What Does This Do?
Basically, when you turn lights down, the entire page darkens* and lets you play the game in the 'dark' which cuts out distractions.

*You can also change the fade background colour to match that of your forum and blank everything out except the game.

Upload the contents of the zip file to your forum root

In your v3ARCADE_PLAY template and find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Underneath that add:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You can change background: #fff; /* Set the color to black */ to match the colour of your forum if you'd prefer that to black and the opacity: .90; /* Set the layer's opacity to .90 which is 90% */ to suit your needs.

Still in the v3ARCADE_PLAY template find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Below that add:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Next, find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Above that add:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Search for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Above that add:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Save the template.

Thanks goes to C.Birch for pointing out and providing a fix that some people were experiencing where upon pressing the lights out button the whole screen was dimming including the flash game. The required changes can be seen here and have been integrated into the instructions above.

*Nothing has changed in the zip archive, no need to download if upgrading, just carry out the template edits

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	lights_on.jpg
Views:	375
Size:	72.3 KB
ID:	135945   Click image for larger version

Name:	lights_out.jpg
Views:	241
Size:	51.2 KB
ID:	135946  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Add-On Releases v3 Arcade Lights Out Mode Gemma vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 48 09 May 2012 15:15
Mini Mods Let your links' lights be on and off yilmaz68 vBulletin 3.8 Template Modifications 3 09 Jan 2010 16:52

  #16  
Old 19 Mar 2012, 14:51
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Gemma
Originally Posted by Sarab View Post

Hello Gemma,

I see, I would like to translate it to Arabic where it will be:
LIGHT ON = إضاءة
LIGHT OFF = إطفاء الإضاءة

Can this be done =D?

Best Regards,
Sarab
Not sure if the translation has worked out right but try this. Replace the original Lights.swf with the one in this archive.

Edit: removed attachment
__________________

Last edited by Gemma; 19 Mar 2012 at 17:01.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 19 Mar 2012, 15:52
Sarab Sarab is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Originally Posted by Gemma View Post
Not sure if the translation has worked out right but try this. Replace the original Lights.swf with the one in this archive.
Thank you, I just tried it but it didn't work because of the Arabic words, so can you try putting those images instead:
LIGHT OFF:

LIGHT ON:


Best regards,
Sarab
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 19 Mar 2012, 16:30
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Gemma
Couldn't use the images, but is this better?


edit: removed link
__________________

Last edited by Gemma; 20 Mar 2012 at 15:34.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 20 Mar 2012, 10:31
Sarab Sarab is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
I see ="(

Thank you, but it's looks like the words in mirrors + the Arabic characters should be connected to form a word =D

So how about the swf file be without the LIGHT ON & LIGHT OFF, just the light image =D?

Best Regards,
Sarab
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 20 Mar 2012, 15:34
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Gemma
Originally Posted by Sarab View Post
I see ="(

Thank you, but it's looks like the words in mirrors + the Arabic characters should be connected to form a word =D

So how about the swf file be without the LIGHT ON & LIGHT OFF, just the light image =D?

Best Regards,
Sarab
There you go, I've removed the text for you.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Lights.zip (2.0 KB, 9 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 24 Mar 2012, 05:30
Sarab Sarab is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Originally Posted by Gemma View Post
There you go, I've removed the text for you.
Sorry for being late >.<

I want to say thank you, you were really great help and I'm grateful to you T.T

It worked perfect, thanks again for the help =D

Best Regards,
Sarab
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09 May 2012, 14:48
datoneer datoneer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Originally Posted by Noerenberg View Post
hi,

i am not sure what i do wrong but on my site the hole site goes white
Just replace #fff with #000 and you will get what you want
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12 May 2012, 22:26
C.Birch C.Birch is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Originally Posted by datoneer View Post
Just replace #fff with #000 and you will get what you want
Is problem is the same as i get in firefox, it blacks or whites (going by the colour you set) all the page apart from the lights button, what means you can not see or interact with the flash game when you use the lights out mode.

This seems to be a z-index problem to me, with the flash game needing a index number higher that the one used for the lights out mode.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12 May 2012, 22:58
C.Birch C.Birch is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Here is the fix:
In your v3ARCADE_PLAY do the following edits.

Below:
#fade { /* This is the "dimmed" layer which fades in when the lights go off */
display: none; /* Set the display to none which hides the layer */
background: #000000; /* Set the color to black */
position: fixed; left: 0; top: 0; /* Set the position to fixed so when the user scrolls it stays with them */
width: 100%; height: 100%; /* Set the width and height to 100% of the browser window */
opacity: .90; /* Set the layer's opacity to .90 which is 90% */
z-index:100; /* Set the height on the Z axis to 100 which is below the "light switch" layer */
}
Add:
#standout{
position:relative;
background-color:#ffffff;
z-index:1000;
}
Below:
<td align="center" class="blockbody" valign="top">
<!-- main -->
Add:
<div id = "standout">
Above:
<!-- /main -->
</td>
Add:
</div>
Now save the edits.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 13 May 2012, 13:23
Gemma's Avatar
Gemma Gemma is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Gemma
Update to version 2.0.1 with the above fix. If you're updating, follow the instructions in the post above (#24); these instructions have been included in the OP for those who are installing from scratch.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 15 Feb 2013, 21:31
hunter1985 hunter1985 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Real name: Ryan
That looks brill! Nice addon lassie!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 25 Apr 2013, 17:18
doctorsexy's Avatar
doctorsexy doctorsexy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Real name: Chris
works well with Xf....
__________________
http://sandstormradio.org
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 02 Jun 2013, 11:16
initiald initiald is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
NVM. Just change the number.

Last edited by initiald; 02 Jun 2013 at 11:30.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:22.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: