Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Geek AutoLinker 4.02 Details »
Geek AutoLinker 4.02
Mod Version: 4.02, by The Geek (Coder) The Geek is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.7 Rating: (10 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 151
Released: 09 Feb 2005 Last Update: 26 May 2005 Downloads: 220
Not Supported DB Changes  

HowdA All,

Welcome to Geek Autolinker 4.0 from the makers of Geek Autolinker 2.0 and Tang - the stuff the people in space drink.

posts for version 4.0 start here

What it does:
It allows you to specify key words to replace in posts with ANY FREAKING URL YOU COULD THINK OF. Thats right, you to can now have key words automatically url'ed to other areas of the world wide web.

Now in 4.0 you can create popups, track impressions and click-thrus, get statistics on them and specify more attributes of the links. The popups can now also use bbcode to create virtually any kind of popup you could imagine. You can limit categories of links to certain forums and also enable specific usergroups to toggle GALs on or off (by category).


This is a perfect gift for sponsors, click throughs, referal programs, definitions, instructions, birthdays and other celebrations.

Example:
If I define Bob as a keyword that I would like to automatically come up hyperlinked to bob.com all I have to do is say so (well, you put it into the admincp). Presto! As quick as that, everytime a user sees the word bob, bobs, bob! Bob bOb? etc... it comes up linked to bob.com

How much will bob love you?

If the url you want it to jump to is actually a thread on your site, you can use the nifty ignorethreadid option. Heres how that works:

If I have a thread entitled Reputation and how to use it, I can put the word reputation into the Geek AutoLinker with the URL pointing to the thread about reputation. Then everytime the word reputation appears in someones post, anyone can click on it to learn more. Since it would be stupid to have the thread Reputation and how to use it autolink to itself, I put the threadid in the ignorethreadid box. That way all matches for reputation are linked to that thread except for the reputation matches in the thread Reputation and how to use it.

Safe mode and dangerous mode.

There are now two modes of operation. Safe mode will autolink any match AS LONG AS IT HAS A SPACE BEFORE IT. That means that <br />bob or .Bob are not valid matches and wont be highlighted. The reason for this is to prevent the autolinker messing up URLs with matches in them (like www.bob.com). Safe mode will most likely end up with fewer matches, but no messed up URLS.
Dangerous mode however could care less about your cute little spaces. It will link them regardless. That means more matches, but a slight increase that an existing url might break in a post.

Here are some examples in action.
Keyword: freak

Safe mode.
Freak out whenever freaks freak about on www.freak.com
Dangerous mode:
Freak out whenever freaks freak about on www.<a href="www.freak.com">freak</a>.com

Other stuff:
  • Category management - allows you to override global settings
  • Limit - limit the number of replacements per link per post
  • Ordinal - organise the order replacments are made
  • Customize your own replacment code on a global, catergory, or individual level.
  • The installer is a prototype GISH installer that does the file edits for you. Please check the readme for details on how it works - its pretty cool).
Upgrading
  • Download, replace all existing files with new ones.
  • Run the gal4_install.php file (in your admincp)
  • Follow the upgrade path.
  • The system will ahve you manullay chage any files it can not find to update.
DEMO: http://www.thenailgeek.com/showthread.php?t=11011 (note the words MMA and PREP. If you follow to MMA you will notice that MMA isnt linked in the final article thanks to ignorethreadid)

Difficulty: Easy
File mods: 4 simple ones
Added queries: 0 or greater depending on your settings

Updated 10.5.05 - Major
Massive update in functionality

Updated 13.4.05 - Major
Massive update in functionality

Update 25.03.05 - oops!
Changed readme addition to functions_showthread.php Things look good now

Updates 25.05.05 to v.204 - sneaky bug
Thanks to Razz - I found 2 minor typos that end up causing people working in safemode to actually be working in danger mode! To upgrade, simply check out this post

Updated 12.2.05 to v. 2.03 - ultra minor
Fixed a typo in readme. To upgrade, al you need to do is edit admincp/index,
do a search for
construct_nav_option($vbphrase['GAL_add_new'], 'GAL_admin.php?do=create');
and replace with
construct_nav_option($vbphrase['GAL_add_new'], 'GAL_admin.php?do=add');

Updated 11.2.05 - ultra minor
Fixed a typo in README (dont worry, it wasnt in the instructions)
Stopped phrase text spitting out during install. Some of the phrase is html so it looked confusing to new installers.
Removed reference to GAS3 settings in the install. This is because its the same installer. Just forgot to remove that line.
All in all, this was just a typo fix. There is no upgrade because there are no problems with the code.

Updated 10.2.05 - minor
Found a couple typos that affect safe mode.
Nothing major - just replace the GAL_admin.php file

Updated 10.2.05 - Major
Completely re-written.
See README for upgrade instructions.

Update 10.2.05 - minor
Updated include/geek_autolink.php as it was missing a table_prefix
To upgrade, download latest package and replace your geek_autolink file.


nJoy

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	fishy.JPG
Views:	1154
Size:	6.0 KB
ID:	26210   Click image for larger version

Name:	sponsor.JPG
Views:	1309
Size:	9.1 KB
ID:	26211  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Geek AutoLinker 4.0 RC2 The Geek vBulletin 3.0 Beta Releases 110 10 May 2005 17:42
Geek AutoLinker 3.00 RC1 The Geek vBulletin 3.0 Beta Releases 97 12 Apr 2005 16:04

  #226  
Old 05 Apr 2005, 06:49
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
sure - wouldnt cause any problems being longer. I dont think there is a check on the textbox size before update/insertion.
Reply With Quote
  #227  
Old 05 Apr 2005, 07:04
Tom1234 Tom1234 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
The autolinker was working perfectly, but then began displaying incomplete link code in the message posts rather than using the proper link syntax. I do not have an example since I immediately rebuilt the list and fixed it, but the only things I can think of that changed was that I deleted one autolinker entry (which was the first time I had done that) and later a re-start of the httpd daemon. Any clues as to how things could have been corrupted with the autolinker text replacement? I'm not familiar with the "datastore" and how that maintains state through an httpd restart. My suspicion is the entry deletion however. I'm using "safe mode" here if that matters.
Reply With Quote
  #228  
Old 05 Apr 2005, 07:15
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
hmmm. got me. Every time you make a chage - it rebuilds the datastore. THe datastore is simply just a serialized version of an array of built links. this saves an extra query to the db and save looping through and rebuilding at run time.

The only thing I can think of is that it rebuilt it in danger mode instead of safe mode.
Reply With Quote
  #229  
Old 05 Apr 2005, 09:42
Lizard King's Avatar
Lizard King Lizard King is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Real name: Mert
Geek for the next version is there a way to add some forum id's to settings so that whenever a new thread will be open in that forum the thread name will be auto linked ?
it might be really good for movie - book forums .
__________________
Mert G÷kšeimam / Crawlability Inc.

DepKaš | vBSEO 3.3.0 - vBulletin Search Engine Optimisation
Reply With Quote
  #230  
Old 05 Apr 2005, 09:49
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by Lizard King
Geek for the next version is there a way to add some forum id's to settings so that whenever a new thread will be open in that forum the thread name will be auto linked ?
it might be really good for movie - book forums .
Hey Mert - I think that could be a little bit of a nightmare. Maybe as an addon or something. GAS uses a new file that ties into this that could be used as the basis for something like this.
Reply With Quote
  #231  
Old 05 Apr 2005, 11:23
Hooper's Avatar
Hooper Hooper is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
I'm having the same database error I'm reading about in here. Anyone know how to resolve it with vb3.07?

Thanks
__________________
Cheers,
Hooper
Reply With Quote
  #232  
Old 05 Apr 2005, 11:53
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by Hooper
I'm having the same database error I'm reading about in here. Anyone know how to resolve it with vb3.07?

Thanks
You mean the table creation at installation? here is the command to create the table. Just run this in a sql window:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

HTH's
Reply With Quote
  #233  
Old 05 Apr 2005, 12:47
Hooper's Avatar
Hooper Hooper is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Originally Posted by The Geek
You mean the table creation at installation? here is the command to create the table. Just run this in a sql window:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

HTH's

I get an error running that as well... :=(
An error occurred while attempting to execute your query. The following information was returned.
error number: 1064
error desc: You have an error in your SQL syntax near ''CREATE TABLE geek_autolink (
`id` int(11) NOT NULL auto_increme' at line 1
__________________
Cheers,
Hooper
Reply With Quote
  #234  
Old 05 Apr 2005, 17:48
konstance's Avatar
konstance konstance is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
There seems to be a parenthesis missing at the end of the statement:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #235  
Old 06 Apr 2005, 20:42
007's Avatar
007 007 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
What this is missing is an option to enter text for "STATUS BAR DISPLAY!"

Let's put some basic javascript to work and hide those affiliate codes in the links!

I have searched the files inside and out with no luck whatsoever on any ideas for doing this.. I can't find where links are made..
Reply With Quote
  #236  
Old 06 Apr 2005, 20:51
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by 006
What this is missing is an option to enter text for "STATUS BAR DISPLAY!"

Let's put some basic javascript to work and hide those affiliate codes in the links!

I have searched the files inside and out with no luck whatsoever on any ideas for doing this.. I can't find where links are made..
currently, links are made in the admincp.
However that is about to change. I have a new version I am working on the upgrade script for right now.
If you want to slide me the js ill see if I can work it into the next release.

The new version features:
Description field (for the url 'title' attribute). Was in there, just didnt draw up the interface for some dumb reason
Ordinal field. So you can specify the order of replacement instead of the 'first come first served' option.
Installer. This is the thing that is taking so freaking long. I am adapting my GISH installer for this hack. Eventually all of my hacks will feature my installer that auto edits files for you (if you want that is).
Limit option. Someone was asking for the option to limit a match to once per post. Thats in there now.

I think thats about it besides a few other tweaks and fixes.

Beta testers for the installer/upgrader can PM me if they want to give it a whirl. Should be ready by tomorrow if I get time to finish it up.
Reply With Quote
  #237  
Old 06 Apr 2005, 21:43
konstance's Avatar
konstance konstance is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
I have a little problem with the comments under the article. When I set "Show preview of comments only on the last page" to No, the comments do not appear at all. There is a word "Comments" under the article, but no comments themselves. Any Ideas why that would happen?

You can check out the test page here: (currently that option is set to No)

http://www.digital-tutors.com/forums...play.php?f=107

Thanks in advance for any help
Reply With Quote
  #238  
Old 06 Apr 2005, 21:46
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by konstance
I have a little problem with the comments under the article. When I set "Show preview of comments only on the last page" to No, the comments do not appear at all. There is a word "Comments" under the article, but no comments themselves. Any Ideas why that would happen?

You can check out the test page here: (currently that option is set to No)

http://www.digital-tutors.com/forums...play.php?f=107

Thanks in advance for any help
check the number of comments to preview (and post the response in the GAS thread as this thread is for the Geek Auto Linker )
Reply With Quote
  #239  
Old 06 Apr 2005, 22:15
konstance's Avatar
konstance konstance is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
ooops, sorry about that. I was wondering why I couldn't find my post in the GAS forum! ha.
Reply With Quote
  #240  
Old 06 Apr 2005, 22:43
zachlee zachlee is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Originally Posted by 006
What this is missing is an option to enter text for "STATUS BAR DISPLAY!"

Let's put some basic javascript to work and hide those affiliate codes in the links!

I have searched the files inside and out with no luck whatsoever on any ideas for doing this.. I can't find where links are made..

I tried looking at the code as well to implement this, but came up short. I would LOVE to be able to hide affiliate links.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:02.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: