Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Geek AutoLinker 4.02 Details »
Geek AutoLinker 4.02
Mod Version: 4.02, by The Geek (Coder) The Geek is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.7 Rating: (10 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 151
Released: 09 Feb 2005 Last Update: 26 May 2005 Downloads: 220
Not Supported DB Changes  

HowdA All,

Welcome to Geek Autolinker 4.0 from the makers of Geek Autolinker 2.0 and Tang - the stuff the people in space drink.

posts for version 4.0 start here

What it does:
It allows you to specify key words to replace in posts with ANY FREAKING URL YOU COULD THINK OF. Thats right, you to can now have key words automatically url'ed to other areas of the world wide web.

Now in 4.0 you can create popups, track impressions and click-thrus, get statistics on them and specify more attributes of the links. The popups can now also use bbcode to create virtually any kind of popup you could imagine. You can limit categories of links to certain forums and also enable specific usergroups to toggle GALs on or off (by category).


This is a perfect gift for sponsors, click throughs, referal programs, definitions, instructions, birthdays and other celebrations.

Example:
If I define Bob as a keyword that I would like to automatically come up hyperlinked to bob.com all I have to do is say so (well, you put it into the admincp). Presto! As quick as that, everytime a user sees the word bob, bobs, bob! Bob bOb? etc... it comes up linked to bob.com

How much will bob love you?

If the url you want it to jump to is actually a thread on your site, you can use the nifty ignorethreadid option. Heres how that works:

If I have a thread entitled Reputation and how to use it, I can put the word reputation into the Geek AutoLinker with the URL pointing to the thread about reputation. Then everytime the word reputation appears in someones post, anyone can click on it to learn more. Since it would be stupid to have the thread Reputation and how to use it autolink to itself, I put the threadid in the ignorethreadid box. That way all matches for reputation are linked to that thread except for the reputation matches in the thread Reputation and how to use it.

Safe mode and dangerous mode.

There are now two modes of operation. Safe mode will autolink any match AS LONG AS IT HAS A SPACE BEFORE IT. That means that <br />bob or .Bob are not valid matches and wont be highlighted. The reason for this is to prevent the autolinker messing up URLs with matches in them (like www.bob.com). Safe mode will most likely end up with fewer matches, but no messed up URLS.
Dangerous mode however could care less about your cute little spaces. It will link them regardless. That means more matches, but a slight increase that an existing url might break in a post.

Here are some examples in action.
Keyword: freak

Safe mode.
Freak out whenever freaks freak about on www.freak.com
Dangerous mode:
Freak out whenever freaks freak about on www.<a href="www.freak.com">freak</a>.com

Other stuff:
  • Category management - allows you to override global settings
  • Limit - limit the number of replacements per link per post
  • Ordinal - organise the order replacments are made
  • Customize your own replacment code on a global, catergory, or individual level.
  • The installer is a prototype GISH installer that does the file edits for you. Please check the readme for details on how it works - its pretty cool).
Upgrading
  • Download, replace all existing files with new ones.
  • Run the gal4_install.php file (in your admincp)
  • Follow the upgrade path.
  • The system will ahve you manullay chage any files it can not find to update.
DEMO: http://www.thenailgeek.com/showthread.php?t=11011 (note the words MMA and PREP. If you follow to MMA you will notice that MMA isnt linked in the final article thanks to ignorethreadid)

Difficulty: Easy
File mods: 4 simple ones
Added queries: 0 or greater depending on your settings

Updated 10.5.05 - Major
Massive update in functionality

Updated 13.4.05 - Major
Massive update in functionality

Update 25.03.05 - oops!
Changed readme addition to functions_showthread.php Things look good now

Updates 25.05.05 to v.204 - sneaky bug
Thanks to Razz - I found 2 minor typos that end up causing people working in safemode to actually be working in danger mode! To upgrade, simply check out this post

Updated 12.2.05 to v. 2.03 - ultra minor
Fixed a typo in readme. To upgrade, al you need to do is edit admincp/index,
do a search for
construct_nav_option($vbphrase['GAL_add_new'], 'GAL_admin.php?do=create');
and replace with
construct_nav_option($vbphrase['GAL_add_new'], 'GAL_admin.php?do=add');

Updated 11.2.05 - ultra minor
Fixed a typo in README (dont worry, it wasnt in the instructions)
Stopped phrase text spitting out during install. Some of the phrase is html so it looked confusing to new installers.
Removed reference to GAS3 settings in the install. This is because its the same installer. Just forgot to remove that line.
All in all, this was just a typo fix. There is no upgrade because there are no problems with the code.

Updated 10.2.05 - minor
Found a couple typos that affect safe mode.
Nothing major - just replace the GAL_admin.php file

Updated 10.2.05 - Major
Completely re-written.
See README for upgrade instructions.

Update 10.2.05 - minor
Updated include/geek_autolink.php as it was missing a table_prefix
To upgrade, download latest package and replace your geek_autolink file.


nJoy

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	fishy.JPG
Views:	1154
Size:	6.0 KB
ID:	26210   Click image for larger version

Name:	sponsor.JPG
Views:	1309
Size:	9.1 KB
ID:	26211  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Geek AutoLinker 4.0 RC2 The Geek vBulletin 3.0 Beta Releases 110 10 May 2005 17:42
Geek AutoLinker 3.00 RC1 The Geek vBulletin 3.0 Beta Releases 97 12 Apr 2005 16:04

Comments
  #2  
Old 09 Feb 2005, 23:27
yoyoyoyo's Avatar
yoyoyoyo yoyoyoyo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
very cool- kinda like a wikipedia
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09 Feb 2005, 23:29
nexialys
Guest
 
for your links related thing: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=69077
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09 Feb 2005, 23:38
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by nexialys
Thanks nexialys, though I think that is a little different than the control I want.
I run a professional nail site (could you guess). If someone types in What is MMA? in a post, I want MMA to automatically link to a Geek Article on site. What I dont want is that article (or thread) to automatically highlight all instances of MMA which would simply refer back to itself (if you know what I mean!). Thats what the ignorethreadid is for
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09 Feb 2005, 23:41
nexialys
Guest
 
no, i was relating to the fact that if users quote a url in a thread that is related to another thread or forum in your board, it would display that thread or forum title, ... maybe this can be added as a feature on your system.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09 Feb 2005, 23:59
noppid noppid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Have never found a way around this (maybe someone here can help). If you are replacing bob with www.bob.com and somone puts in a link to www.hithere.com/I_am_bob.html it will screw up their link.
When the user posts the word they want parsed, save it as...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

So when it's retrieved it's parsed as Space bob Space.

Maybe you tried that? Just a thought.
__________________
Add a photo gallery garage to your auto forum and get noticed by your members. Find out how at the vBulletin Computer Help Forum.
An informed rider makes their first destination the motorcycle forum at rider info.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10 Feb 2005, 00:02
KTBleeding's Avatar
KTBleeding KTBleeding is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Real name: Tyler
Oohh, you know what would be cool TNG?

When creating an article in the Geek Article System, it will automatically add the article name/url into an auto linker system like this. That would be awesome. hah.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10 Feb 2005, 00:08
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by KTBleeding
in the Geek Article System, it will automatically add the article name/url into an auto linker system like this.
Theres an idea! Ill mull that one over for awhile.

noppid: The idea is that keywords are highlighted without them even knowing about it. Otherwise the previous suggestion would be the perfect hack.

Say you have eBay as a sponsor. Well, everytime eBay is mentioned- it will link it automatically.

Hope that makes sense.
I am mulling over adding a post field to disable it (like disabling smiles). That way if a user notices a link of theirs messed up (or knows ahead of time that it will get messed up) they can simply tick the 'do not autolink me'. Im only hesitant because I hate making DB changes to vB db's.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10 Feb 2005, 00:25
noppid noppid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
I phrased that wrong.

In the ACP code before the insert of $replace on action create, add the spaces at both ends of $replace. This way later when it's called to be looked for in a post to do a replacement, you are looking for Space bob Space instead of just bob which can be embedded in words.

"bob" can be found embedded in words.

" bob " is a stand alone bob.
__________________
Add a photo gallery garage to your auto forum and get noticed by your members. Find out how at the vBulletin Computer Help Forum.
An informed rider makes their first destination the motorcycle forum at rider info.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10 Feb 2005, 00:31
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by noppid
I phrased that wrong.

In the ACP code before the insert of $replace on action create, add the spaces at both ends of $replace. This way later when it's called to be looked for in a post to do a replacement, you are looking for Space bob Space instead of just bob which can be embedded in words.

"bob" can be found embedded in words.

" bob " is a stand alone bob.
ah... gotcha. I used to do that. It works... but the trade off is that the following doesnt get picked up with a trailing space:
bobs
bob.
bob!
bob?
etc...

The leading space is the best 2nd option. Where that fails is:
Bob at the start of a paragraph
or .Bob at the start of a sentence with no space (or other mark like ").

So, it is a bit of a trade off. If you want less likely to screw up links... add the spaces (I would add only one space). However in over 2 years of using this... I have only had about 3 screwed up links. Saying that... it could be more for sponsored links. Take eBay for example. You can autolink all ebays, however any user linking to www.ebay.com would have their link broken.

Maybe an option is in order!

What do you guys think? Option to turn on leading space? Personally, I would opt out of training space becasue of punctuation issues.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10 Feb 2005, 00:44
noppid noppid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
I see your point. Too much code would be a bad thing. Compromise is good.

Nice hack.
__________________
Add a photo gallery garage to your auto forum and get noticed by your members. Find out how at the vBulletin Computer Help Forum.
An informed rider makes their first destination the motorcycle forum at rider info.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10 Feb 2005, 01:36
Lionel Lionel is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Lionel
Isnt it the same thing accomplished now with replacements variables?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10 Feb 2005, 02:42
rex_b rex_b is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
I'm getting errors b/c my prefixes are not default vb prefix, I have changed them. Could you make the hack work without having default named vb prefixed.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10 Feb 2005, 03:32
trainer trainer is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
will this work without adding the geek article hack?

so every time bob is posted in a thread or has been posted in a thread it will link to whatever url we want?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10 Feb 2005, 07:26
The Geek's Avatar
The Geek The Geek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by Lionel
Isnt it the same thing accomplished now with replacements variables?
@Lionel: Nope

@Rex: Updated the geek_autolink file. It was missing a table_prefix. Could you please click install so you are notified of changes?

@trainer: Yup, will totally work without GAS3. And yes, everytime bob, ben or bertha (or whatever you want) appears in a post... it will link it to whatever url you want.

HTH's
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:47.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: