Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Proxy to Real IP Conversion Details »
Proxy to Real IP Conversion
Mod Version: 2.25, by Paul M (Member) Paul M is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 3.6.x Rating: (24 votes - 4.13 average) Installs: 634
Released: 02 Jul 2006 Last Update: 25 Nov 2006 Downloads: 3044
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Auto-Template Code Changes Translations  

This modification is no longer available or supported.

This hack makes the forum always use the members real ip when a proxy is detected, meaning that all existing ip functions should continue to work, basically ignoring the proxy server (other than recording it's presence).

i.e.

* The real ip (or host) is displayed in the who's online page.
* The real and proxy server ip's are accesible for each post, the button is red for members using a proxy server.
* The real ip is searchable in the admin/mod cp (but not the proxy ip).
* The real ip can be banned by admins.

etc etc ......

Note: Obviously this hack relies on the proxy server passing the correct http variables to allow detection.

If a proxy is detected, then a red ip icon is displayed instead of the standard one. This mod will also detect if the ipinfo hack is installed and adjust itself to call the ipinfo code.


History:

v2.20 : Updated for vb 3.6. IP Info detection added.
v2.21 : Dependancies updated for 3.6.0 Gold.
v2.22 : Updated for Version Checking.
v2.23 : Fixed bug causing wrong ip in WOL display.
v2.24 : Rewritten slightly to fix a minor issue with spiders.
v2.25 : Updated for changes in vB 3.6.4.


Remember that this modification involves changes to the class_core.php file - if you upgrade your vbulletin, you must reapply those changes.

Please do not post asking why this does not work with some proxy servers, the answer is already in the notes above, and also in Post #160.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Administrative and Maintenance Tools Proxy IP to real IP conversion Paul M Modification Graveyard 152 20 Feb 2011 22:46
Proxy ip to real ip conversion Paul M Modification Graveyard 236 27 Jan 2007 04:25
Use real ip when proxy server is detected. Paul M Modification Graveyard 260 04 Oct 2006 06:46

  #316  
Old 01 Apr 2007, 17:01
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Um, you'll get a different icon displayed ..........
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #317  
Old 01 Apr 2007, 17:32
rjmjr69's Avatar
rjmjr69 rjmjr69 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
Um, you'll get a different icon displayed ..........

LOL

I know that funny guy what I was getting at is will the hack still function correctly? Like how is it going to be red if I have a black Button?
Reply With Quote
  #318  
Old 11 Apr 2007, 10:43
jonty jonty is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Since the update to 3.6.5 all the post icons have gone red to indicate proxy usage.
Has anyone else noticed this?
Or is it unrelated

/edit
D'Oh - the upgrade probably wiped out the changes (in the readme)
Going back to re-apply.
Reply With Quote
  #319  
Old 14 Apr 2007, 00:13
steve71 steve71 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
I seemed to have this running smoothly in version 3.6.4, but now that I've upgraded to 3.6.5 the following occurs.

When a proxy is detected and I click on the icon it gives the real IP but, where the PROXY IP used to be listed it instead just has the text : PROXYIP

Also,

I then disabled the mod, and it turns out that the real IP that was listed (after the proxy was detected) remained the same, so something isn't right. If it is disabled, then the only IP I should be able to view on that user would be the proxy IP right?
Reply With Quote
  #320  
Old 14 Apr 2007, 01:15
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Originally Posted by steve71 View Post
I seemed to have this running smoothly in version 3.6.4, but now that I've upgraded to 3.6.5 the following occurs.

When a proxy is detected and I click on the icon it gives the real IP but, where the PROXY IP used to be listed it instead just has the text : PROXYIP
Read the nice bold blue line in the main post ....

Originally Posted by steve71 View Post
I then disabled the mod, and it turns out that the real IP that was listed (after the proxy was detected) remained the same, so something isn't right. If it is disabled, then the only IP I should be able to view on that user would be the proxy IP right?
Nope, disabling the product will not prevent the IP conversion.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.

Last edited by Paul M; 14 Apr 2007 at 01:18.
Reply With Quote
  #321  
Old 14 Apr 2007, 04:08
rjmjr69's Avatar
rjmjr69 rjmjr69 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by rjmjr69 View Post
LOL

I know that funny guy what I was getting at is will the hack still function correctly? Like how is it going to be red if I have a black Button?

Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #322  
Old 14 Apr 2007, 07:16
Lizard306's Avatar
Lizard306 Lizard306 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Hi Paul, i just installed this hack. But i guess its not working for me.

i followed your steps to install this & made a test post using http://anonymouse.org/anonwww.html but the red icon does not comeup & the system shows the proxy ip instead of the real ip.

i am using 3.6.5

What can be the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #323  
Old 14 Apr 2007, 07:54
steve71 steve71 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
Read the nice bold blue line in the main post ....
Sorry I should have mentioned..I did re-edit the class_core.php after the upgrade. Are you sure this is compatable with 3.6.5?

Last edited by steve71; 14 Apr 2007 at 07:58.
Reply With Quote
  #324  
Old 14 Apr 2007, 12:07
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Originally Posted by Lizard306 View Post
What can be the problem?
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...71#post1111071

Originally Posted by steve71 View Post
Are you sure this is compatable with 3.6.5?
Of course. It works with any version of 3.6 - from Beta 1 up to, and including, 3.6.6.

JFYI - there is no difference in class_core.php between 3.6.4 and 3.6.5
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #325  
Old 14 Apr 2007, 12:28
Lizard306's Avatar
Lizard306 Lizard306 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
lol, sorry i missed that post , thanks for the prompt reply.
Reply With Quote
  #326  
Old 14 Apr 2007, 12:35
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Originally Posted by Lizard306 View Post
lol, sorry i missed that post , thanks for the prompt reply.
It is from a while ago now, I have to link back to it every so often. I should probably add it to the main post notes at some point.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #327  
Old 30 Apr 2007, 17:54
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
Installed....

Thanks Paul ...

Regards,
Badger
Reply With Quote
  #328  
Old 01 May 2007, 22:04
aycan555 aycan555 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: www.ultrapaylasim.com
I have used http://anonymouse.org/anonwww.html registered new user and posted, but it shows on post ip the proxy one also i search in admincp for the user in ip field it show proxy ip, how can i found the real ip and ban it?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #329  
Old 01 May 2007, 22:48
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Read the main post, just above the file download area.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #330  
Old 08 May 2007, 01:31
Alfa1's Avatar
Alfa1 Alfa1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Paul, I am upgrading from 2.13. Should I apply the file edits found in the text file? I can't find the needed code.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:08.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: